Kent Anderson
1 min readJul 18, 2022

--

I read a piece from Julia E Hubbel (https://medium.com/technical-excellence/medium-has-failed-and-now-its-official-news-6f6f8c5ea73b) this morning about how she has grown her audience, but her earnings flatlined or went down. Ev Williams problem was making people pay for the privlege of a) reading and b) writing. I have been writing for newspapers and online since I was in High School in the 1970s. I have been an editor and a columnist. When I started blogging many moons ago, through reading a friend's late night blogs about losing his job in the economic meltdown in 2008, I was writing notes on Facebook. So, I went to Wordpress and wrote for free. A friend, whom I know through Charles Pierce's blog at Esquire, started writing here, but left about early 2021 for Substack. After I started subscribing, I had one month of very good returns, but then I'd get a dollar or $3.50 or even a penny. Even though I've grown my readership and email subscribers over the last year.

If all we are doing is making rich people richer and not getting our fair share, then something needs to change.

--

--

Kent Anderson

Purveyor of Truth and Facts. Lifelong Detroiter. Journalist. Loves good TV, sports, friends and family. Mostly. Also: https://rollingwheelie.substack.com/